1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Thursday, Aug. 24, 2017 - 08:42

The puppy's roommate left again for work this morning. I got up at 6 and went outside to say goodbye. It's dark now when he leaves. I wrap a blanket around my legs and sit on the steps, plaid shirt over my t-shirt. The puppy comes and sits next to me. His roommate comes over to say goodbye, and then he leaves, and then he's gone. The puppy and I go back to bed.

The puppy moved in four years ago. Last night his roommate said he didn't know how he got so lucky, getting a dog like that. I can't imagine how things would be without this dog. We both love him more than we could say.

Dogs don't hide their emotions - if they like you, if they're happy to see you, they let you know - they wag their tails and wiggle their butts and whine and jump up on you when you come in the gate. They don't try to save face, they're not keeping score, they don't care if you didn't text them back quickly enough.

Today it rained for the second time this summer.

Right here I had made reference to some Mylie Cyrus lyrics but deleted them lest you think I've lost all my indie street cred. But for the record I think Malibu is a really lovely love song and I've been listening to it constantly this week.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019