1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Monday, Aug. 28, 2017 - 13:58

Smoke's bad again today - tough ride to work this morning, into the wind filled with smoke. I wore my bike helmet so the smoke wouldn't get in my hair, I wore a hoodie so the smoke wouldn't stick to my arms.

I wake up early in the dark these days, regardless of when I go to bed, despite how tired I am. I felt okay this morning when I woke up but then a headache formed, back of my neck and front of my brain. I should stayed home for a while but I think it was smokier inside than outside.

I stripped the inside of my front door yesterday through the layers of paint - the cracking white paint, almond, gray, cream, white, green, lighter green, dirty tan, whitewash, down to the wood. It's a nice old pine door under all that. I could repaint it but I want to keep going, get all the paint off in the detailing, sand it down, stain and varnish. The frame around the door, I could do that too, couldn't I? I don't see why not. Then my stairs - they're beautiful but weatherworn, and why not sand those down a little, stain and revarnish? Why not? There's old damage to the door, a few coats of paint ago - someone locked inside wearing sharp pointy shoes, or a dog trying to get out. Someone sanded it down back then and tried to fill in the gashes, but you can still see it. I think it's interesting - once upon a time there was a dog, or trapped maniac.

It's turned out to be a good year in the garden - you never know what's going to happen. One of the tomato plants is nine feet tall. I'll plant garlic all over the place this fall. I dug up the potatoes. Fuck potatoes - definitely not planting all blues ever again. Should have planted a yukon gold this year instead.

I could talk about the fight the puppy's roommate and I had yesterday morning (about the physics of light) but it's too ridiculous.

We've got a 32 percent chance of rain Wednesday night (meaning thunderstorm), 15 percent chance of rain tomorrow afternoon (meaning thunderstorm). I mean, we'll take it, but I have to say that once again Mother Nature is doing a terrible job of distributing her rain rations. Texas has enough! Leave them alone now and send some this way, Mother Nature!

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019