1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Jul. 09, 2017 - 16:52

Well, I ended up doing pretty well in the race. My calf was killing me, and still is, but I just decided to ignore it. Will have to call the PT tomorrow and see about some dry needling. Found a friend at about mile 7 and ran the rest of the race with him - he's faster than me, so it pulled me along. Otherwise I might have stopped or at least slowed down. Got 1:56, two minutes faster than last year. Got a negative split.

My calf started hurting about, oh, an eighth of a mile in, and an eighth of a mile later it started cramping, so I thought it was going to be a long day. I kept running, thought I'd run as long as I could, and at mile 5 I started feeling pretty pleased with myself and thought I'd get away with running the whole thing, calf be damned. Then I felt something kind of pop, and it started hurting more. I was limping, but was keeping pace or passing all the people around me, and it wasn't a sharp pain, so I decided it was okay and I kept on going.

Etc.

Now I'm doing laundry. It's a million degrees outside. Bye.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019