1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Thursday, Jun. 29, 2017 - 16:10

I got a massage yesterday, second one in a week. Today I've got a bad kink in my neck. Blame it on the neighbors, though - those assholes were outside being drunk fucks in the middle of the night. At 2:45 I went out and told them to be quiet. They said, "Oh sorry, sorry, we'll be quiet, sorry, we'll go inside." I said thanks, and stood there with my arms crossed. When they realized I was going to keep standing there they finally got up to go inside. I went back to bed but didn't fall asleep for a long time, and when I finally did I had a stressful dream that the people across the street were having a huge hippie party that spilled over into our yard. We worried the douchebros would think it was our party and would be mad that I'd just told them to shut up and then had my own party, and I devised ingenious ways of getting rid of the people in our yard. I can't remember what those ways were, but they were pretty terrible.

I've enjoyed running shorter distances this year but I miss training for longer distances. I'm feeling beat up even though my long runs have been only 12 miles. My left leg - glute, calf, arch, toe - has been hurting the last couple weeks. The main pain now is the calf thing, and I hope it goes away soon. The big race is in a little more than a week.

When you're doing back-to-back long runs your body gets better at recovering quickly, and I miss that. I miss doing a tough 20 miles on Saturday and then getting up on Sunday perfectly recovered and doing it again. I don't recall anything on me hurting persistently the last time I was training like that. Yeah I know I've forgotten the pain. Still, when you're only doing one long run a week, your body can take a week to recover, and so it does. (No it's not age. I refuse to even consider that.)

I've just been watching finish line video from Western States. I don't know why but dang I want to be doing that. Or not that - not a 100, but I do want to do another 50. I watched the last finisher, then watched Gunhild Swanson from a couple years ago again. I didn't watch any of it live this year, and now I wish I had.

Well anyway. I got waved at on facebook last week. When I saw it, the waver was also typing a message. I groaned. Oh no, I said, is waving the new less-inappropriate poking? Are you being waved at, the puppy's roommate asked. I didn't read the message until the next day. I responded later, something nonchalant, or so I thought. Then that Friday while I was at the baseball game I got another message - I can't help but think this would be a good time for us to get to know each other. - What the fuck. I've never talked to this person before, this is out of the blue. I didn't respond.

Then at the running class on Sunday morning he was standing in the place I usually sit. I was late. After we broke up and went out to run, he made a bee-line for me, all excited, like he wanted to hang out, wanted to run with me? No. I waved, that's it. At boxing or running, I'm not there to "meet" people, I'm there to get a workout. I don't have any obligation to be nice to these people, do I? Lots of people start trying to get into shape in the midst of a mid-life crisis, and they're desperate and clingy and - sorry - fucking weird. They're not stable. I wish them well but I don't want anything to do with their crisis. This happens a lot. I'm not saying that's what this guy is going through. I have no idea what his deal is, and I don't want to know what his deal is.

... So the puppy and his roommate are at work, will be camping out and won't be home until Saturday night. The puppy's roommate and I have been getting along/not getting along and it's sad/not sad, and confusing. Once again I should be thankful for this time to clear my head. But I'm not, and I will probably be mopey until they get back.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019