1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Thursday, Jun. 08, 2017 - 18:56

The shitshow that is the federal government right now - at least a lot of people are becoming more informed about how our government works, and paying attention to what their congresspeople are doing. So that's good.

It was very hot yesterday, although not as hot as they'd said it would be. I woke up still wiped out from being sick, took my sweet time, got to work an hour late. The shop said they'd have my car ready by the end of the day, a day early. I was pleased but not looking forward to the bike ride across town in 93 degree heat. Turns out they didn't finish yesterday. Oh well. Turns out it only got up to 90 yesterday, too.

The puppy and his roommate had left early in the morning for Colorado. This is their shortest trip ever - they'll be back Monday - but every single time they've gone there the puppy's gotten hurt - lower teeth smashed in, neck ripped open by some jerk dog, badly cut paw. Hope he doesn't get hurt this time but, given the history, there's a 100 percent change he will.

A big summer thunderstorm came through last night. We were just on the edge of it but lost a branch from the big fir tree nonetheless. As I was the only one home, I had to lug it out to the alley. It was heavy, laden with new pinecones. No wonder it fell.

I felt pretty bad Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday. I'm feeling much better now but still tired. I find this out whenever I start walking up stairs and my quads are exhausted, or I start pedaling my bike and my legs are already done.

On Sunday night, as if I weren't miserable enough, while I was awake being barfy, I became aware of a couple mosquito bites. I have since discovered three more bites in very offensive and inappropriate places. I don't know how mosquitoes manage it. Yesterday I was wearing a skirt at work and it felt like my thighs were chafing - yeah I was hot and sweaty and wearing a skirt but I'd also spent the two days previous not eating much, and I haven't been very pudgy lately anyway, so I was surprised that my thighs would be chafing. And they weren't, it's just a mosquito bite on the northeast region of one inner thigh. This morning I found one in my armpit. Goddamn. I'd forgotten how itchy these things are.

My car was finally done today. A new clutch! I'll have to learn how to drive it all over again. It turns out my old clutch sucked super bad. It's so easy to push in now! I'll probably forget and push the pedal through the floor. It's nice but weird, and it's going to take a little bit to get used to.

I'm doing a 12K on Saturday morning, and then a short run (7 miles? 5 miles?) with the training group Sunday morning, and I'm trying to decide if I should sign up for a 5K on Sunday night or go to Wonder Woman instead.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019