1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Thursday, Jun. 01, 2017 - 09:45

Some nights I just can't sleep. Sometimes it just doesn't happen, and when I do finally fall asleep I wake up and wake up and wake up and am convinced it's 6:00 but it's only 2:00 and I fall back asleep but wake up and wake up.

It was like that last night - head hit the pillow and nothing happened, and then I realized I needed to sign up for two races before midnight, so I got back up and got my wallet and signed up, and then listened to a news podcast, and played sudoku, and at some point fell asleep but woke up and woke up. It was dark, it was raining, was it raining?, it wasn't 6:00 yet.

I was asleep, though, when the puppy ran upstairs. Then it really was 6:00, and it was still dark. He hopped up into bed with me, he was kind of wet, it was raining.

I decided to drive to work today because it was raining and because the puppy dawdled on our walk and because my hair was still wet from my shower and because my car, newly washed and waxed, got dirtied up last night in the storm and maybe if I drive it through the rain today it'll get rinsed off a little. That works, right?

The lesson I never learn is that signing up for races always seems like a good idea when the race is weeks away and then on race day I always, always, always curse myself for my goddamn good ideas.

We have beautiful lupines. When did the lupines get so beautiful? I've hated them the last couple years because they've gotten mildew, but that hasn't happened yet and we have three different shades of purple - purple purple, light purple, and pinky purple. I swear all we had before was purple purple. At work there are some peachy lupines and I want some.

A great storm came through yesterday. They said there might be large hail. I was heading south after work but covered some things in the garden before I left - an admittedly futile attempt, putting my lawn chairs over tomatoes and beans, refrigerator crisper drawers (don't ask why) over potatoes and strawberries. It turned out to be fine, though - all we got was rain and wind.

In May we fell short of average for our monthly precipitation, the first time we were short in months and months. So far today, for June, we are .02" above average.

I will close with some ABBA lyrics: If you need me, let me know, gonna be around. If you've got no place to go, if you're feeling down, if you're all alone when the pretty birds have flown - honey I'm still free, take a chance on me. Gonna do my very best and it ain't no lie. If you put me to the test, if you let me try. Take a chance on me.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019