1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

May 30, 86°
Tuesday, May. 30, 2017 - 16:52

We found a tall, lone stalk of asparagus out on the island in the river, next to an old lilac tree. Someone must have planted these a long time ago. We decided to pick the asparagus, lest someone else find out about it, and come back later with a shovel. We looked around for other asparaguses - doesn't asparagus grow in, like, clumps? Shouldn't there be more than one? We found one more, but it had already been broken off. Years ago we'd talked about planting asparagus. It takes a few years to get going, I said. Which wouldn't have worked, because we're renters, but here we are still, years later, and we could have planted it then.

I feel tired down to the muscles in my thighs, and I'm not entirely sure why. I was feeling this way last week too, and I looked at my workout calendar and saw that I was at day 5 of 5 days in a row. There's a reason I take rest days.

Last summer I read Gone with the Wind to keep myself occupied in the evenings during the gaping absence of my neighbor and his dog. They're going to Colorado again next week but just for a week this time and while I should look forward to a week of being able to catch up on sleep I know I'm just gonna mope the entire time.

Beans: I left Saturday afternoon and there wasn't a peep from them - I made plans to buy new beans, these were beans I'd harvested last year and what the crap do I know about harvesting and keeping beans to replant - but when I got back on Monday night they'd not only sprouted but were huge! And monstrous! Monstrous in a monstery sense! Like these beanstalks might just sprout up into a giant's house up in the sky (or whatever)! So that's pretty cool.

Also up and at 'em: irises, poppies, peonies. And more. Everything is beautiful.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019