1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Apr. 30, 2017 - 20:58

I'll tell you about the puppy's weekend.

Yesterday was BORING. It started off okay - he got to run upstairs and jump into bed with me when his roommate left for work at 6, and when we got up we went for a walk to the park, but then he had to sit inside for a while while I ran a 10K and went to a pancake breakfast that he wasn't invited to. Then I came home and he got to sit outside in the sun and bark a little bit while I took a shower, and that was fun, but then he got put back inside while I went out to lunch, which ended up lasting 17.5 dog hours. THEN I got home and he thought things would pick up, but instead he just sat in the back of my car while I fucked around with the new CD player I'd gotten from ebay. Didn't work - someone had pried the shit out of the load tray or whatever. I put my old one back in and it came back to life, but only in an annoying way, so now it's just sitting in the slot unplugged and unscrewed. The puppy didn't give a shit about any of this, although he was supportive. We went to O'Reilly's for some screws to replace the bastards that dropped down under the carpet, and I got some more tart cherry concentrate from the fancy expensive store, and the puppy didn't care about any of this either. Then we went back home. Nothing happened. No walks. It was very boring. I made dinner, and his roommate got home, and that was exciting but then we stayed up too late talking and being boring and the puppy had to put himself to bed. It was a big disappointment of a day.

But today has been the best day ever. This morning we ran a 5K. We didn't win - he was the second dog, and overall we were 11th - but our time was like 24:10, my fastest 5K so far this year by like a minute, which is like a 7:46 pace. For real? For real. I even just mapped out the route and it was an actual 5K, wasn't short. Anyway, the puppy had fun during the race and was a very good boy, and then after the race guess who was there?!? The puppy's roommate! And then the puppy got to go swimming! And then we came home and his roommate's nieces came over and he got to play with them! Then he had to go inside to take a nap. Then he got to go over to a friend's house for a walk, and then he and his roommate went looking for morels, and then he got to go swimming AGAIN, and then his roommate's roommate got back home, and jesus christ how many more awesome things can happen in one day? Right now he's taking a nap next to me. He's wiped out. So am I.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019