1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

March 11, 47 degrees
Saturday, Mar. 11, 2017 - 20:01

It seems I am no longer interested in owning my own ice cream. I am as surprised about this as you are, although perhaps I should have seen it coming, as I've been trying to "eat better" for a while now. I told you a few months ago that I was starting to eat "salad", and I've continued to do that on occasion. At the running workshop I went to last weekend they gave us a recipe for a recovery smoothie, and more importantly gave us samples, so now I'm making "smoothies" with kale in them. And I'm getting pretty spoiled with my Blue Apron meals, with enough leftovers for lunch - and those are pretty protein/vegetable-heavy, and made from fresh ingredients, so not a lot of crap. And now this - no desire at all to have any ice cream in my freezer. I'll let you know how long this lasts.

It's been a pretty okay weekend. All day Thursday it snowed like a motherfucker - woke up to a few new inches, and it snowed all day, snow in the trees, it was really beautiful - but yesterday it all melted, and today the sun actually came out. So things are melting. I did a bunch of yard work today. It was nice.

The puppy's roommate and I got into a little fight last night. We both left and were pissed, it wasn't good. But then we both apologized to each other and I don't think we've ever done that before. I wasn't going to, I was going to remain righteously pissed and haughtily aloof, but then, you know, fuck it, I wasn't mad, I was sad. I don't want to hurt him, I don't want this. Yes I have complaints but so does he and nothing's ever going to be perfect. This is life! Things aren't going to be perfect. Sometimes things will be perfect, maybe, but when they aren't, it's not the end of the world, it doesn't have to be the end of the world.

The puppy remains the cutest, sweetest, fastest, and best dog. He spent much of today up in the tree trying to catch a squirrel that's living in a hole up there. Then he came upstairs with me to take a nap while I cooked meatloaf.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019