1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

February 11, 31 degrees
Saturday, Feb. 11, 2017 - 09:50

Yesterday morning I was interviewing someone and trying to write down his responses and I couldn't write. My arms and hands were too weak to do anything other than chicken scratches. I thought, oh no, here comes the degenerative muscle weakness that will only get worse as I continue this long dark descent into elderhood. I never appreciated the normal functioning of my hands and arms and now it's gone! How long before I can't brush my own teeth or wipe my own behind? But then I remembered that the night before I'd been breaking up ice around the driveway with a big heavy ice breaker-upper. Then I also remembered that we'd had a tough workout at yoga with multiple side planks, and I didn't eat dinner afterwards, and a couple hours later I did the ice breaking, and when you do shit like that without getting any protein you destroy your muscles, and this happens with my leg muscles when I don't refuel properly after a workout, so maybe it's normal. I think that's what it is. Today my arms are still sore but in a normal way now. It could still be the degenerative stuff too though. I'll let you know.

My grandma's funeral is next weekend and there's going to be a rosary and a mass and a luncheon and a VIEWING. WHAT! Like, uh, that's going to be almost two weeks after she died. WHAT??? WHY. And not to be gross but also HOW. Uh. I'm not going to that. I don't need closure.

But, seriously, the last time I saw her she told me, "You look so good," and it was probably the nicest thing she'd ever said to me and that's a good last memory.

An hour or two after the puppy and his roommate left last night we had a nice little snowstorm blow in, 30 mph winds. An hour ago the puppy and his roommate were an hour away from their destination. They had good weather on the drive other than for the first couple hours from here. I hate when they drive overnight but that was good to hear. I hope they have a good time, I hope the weather holds for their return trip, I hope we talk when they get back.

And I hope this goddamn snow melts away. I love winter, I've loved this winter, I've loved all the snow and all the really cold weather, but winter has to end at some point and it's good.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019