1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Nov. 20, 2016 - 19:26

I'm not any better, what the fuck, but I'm not exactly complaining because being sick is a great excuse for more cuddle time with the puppy.

I've gone back and forth since this election, I suppose - thinking people need to stop freaking out, then thinking it's important for people to be able to express how they feel, then thinking it'll be okay, then thinking no it won't be okay and pretty soon we'll be having public executions again because the masses are an idiotic monster, then thinking no no no it'll be okay, then thinking everyone needs to log off their goddamn facebook, etc. Perception is reality but there's such a thing as truth, right?

I do continue to be disappointed by adulthood. The puppy and I watched The Big Short this weekend and there's that one scene where the two dudes go into the Lehman Brothers office on the day that everything crashes and everyone's being laid off - they walk into this center of capitalism and success, now in chaos and nearly abandoned:

This isn't how I pictured it.
- What did you think we'd find?
I don't know. Grown ups.

It turns out that the grown ups aren't the grown ups - 'grown up' is a concept of childhood. Everyone's just as idiotic as they've always been, it turns out, so there's no reason for me not to step up and be a grown up myself. I've always felt hugely under-qualified for life, but all I'm doing is letting similarly under-qualified but overly confident a-holes take over for me.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019