1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

August 12
Friday, Aug. 12, 2016 - 19:03

I believe the gray kitty that's been visiting in the evenings is a female, and I am going to start calling her Little Edie.

I saw one meteor on Wednesday night, and not-a-one last night. The puppy's roommate saw a million up in the mountains of Colorado early this morning and it sounded spectacular. I may get up in the middle of the night tonight to see some. In other news, wahhhhhhhhhhh. What in this world keeps us from tearing apart?

Now I'm going to talk about M&Ms.

In advance of the arrival of Coffee Nut M&Ms on our favorite store shelves, I have been trying different kinds of M&Ms this week.

On Monday, for a poor-me afternoon snack, I got a package of Birthday Cake M&Ms. Birthday Cake M&Ms do not have cake in the middle, like you might have thought they would. Instead, they are filled with milk chocolate that kind of tastes like chocolate cake. The pieces are slightly larger than regular M&Ms and they are in the traditional birthday colors of red, blue, and yellow. I'm kidding, those are actually traditional clown colors. I liked these although the "birthday cake" claim is a little off - they're just large clown M&Ms. Likelihood of repurchase: fairly likely.

On Tuesday, for a normal-person afternoon snack, I got a package of Crispy M&Ms. Crispy M&Ms do not contain milk chocolate that tastes like crisp, as you may have assumed after what happened yesterday. Instead, they have actual crispy stuff in the center. At first I was put off by the taste of the crispy stuff. It's kind of bland, and what is it anyway? But then I started liking it and started liking Crispy M&Ms A LOT. Then I finished the package and five minutes later was like, ehhh, they're fine. I mean they're good. At least they're not Chili Nut or Honey Nut M&Ms, am I right? Ha ha to the losers who liked those flavors. Crispy M&Ms are slightly smaller in diameter than regular M&Ms, but many are loftier, creating candies that are nearly spheres. Likelihood of repurchase: not super likely but likelier than unlikely.

Wednesday I tried Mint with Dark Chocolate M&Ms. These come in varying shades of green, and they are both larger and smaller than regular M&Ms. I read someone's online review of these which said they weren't minty enough and the dark chocolate wasn't dark enough. The review was a few years old and maybe M&Ms have changed their formulation (do you think M&Ms factory workers are actually large living M&Ms making tiny candy versions of themselves?) because I thought these were quite minty enough. And the chocolate, I don't know, it's hard to tell if it's dark enough. Likelihood of repurchase: likely enough, when the need for mint arises.

Thursday I tried Dark Chocolate M&Ms. These are just M&Ms with semisweet chocolate in them. These weren't bad but I will never think about them again in my life. The dark chocolate market is better served by all the other dark chocolates in the entire world. Likelihood of repurchase: not likely at all.

Today I tried Pretzel M&Ms. The package promises crunchy, salty, and sweet candy, and also shows an x-ray of an M&M with a pretzel inside it, and that's exactly what you get! Except that the x-ray shows an entire pretzel in the bowels of the M&M, and actually that's not what you get at all. Anyway, these are good! Likelihood of repurchase: I'd love to say that yes I'm quite likely to repurchase Pretzel M&Ms, but honestly once the Coffee Nut M&Ms get here I probably won't eat anything else ever again.

There are people who write reviews of different candies on the internet and now I am one of them. It's serious business.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019