1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

August 3!
Wednesday, Aug. 03, 2016 - 11:05

It was hot and gusty and smokey yesterday evening. I don't like to cook inside in the summers unless I can have the windows open and the box fan going, but last night it was so hot and weird out that I didn't turn off the air conditioners until around 9. But I decided to cook me up a goddamn incredible dinner using three burners and the oven anyway. It was delightful! It was essentially macaroni and cheese with hamburger, but it was way fancier than that. I wish I'd chopped up one of the hinkelhatz peppers and added that, just for a little heat.

The hinkelhatz has about three ripe peppers right now. I picked the first one a few days ago and tasted it. I don't like hot peppers so it shouldn't have been surprising that I didn't like this one. What am I going to do with all these hot hinkelhatzes for the next three weeks until the puppy's roommate comes home?

Now I'm going to talk about peppers.

Hinkelhatz. I bought this plant from the garden store up the road. It's small and compact, like a bonsai, and has a bunch of peppers on it already that are nearly ripe. If I can gather my druthers I'll keep this plant alive through the winter.

Moshi. This plant is tall and skinny. I bought this because the Thai chilis I tried to start from seed didn't survive. It has some tiny buds on it so far. But it's such a pretty plant, and such a contrast to the hinkelhatz.

Poblano. This is also a tall and skinny plant and I bought it from the same place I got the hinkelhatz and moshi. It's looking good and the peppers on it are two to three inches long now. Not ripe but getting there. The Scoville rating is supposed to be 1,000-1,500 so maybe I'll be able to eat these.

Purple jalapeno. I started this from seed. It's got tiny baby peppers setting right now but they don't look purple yet. I hope they are rad.

Chinese five color. I started this from seed as well. I don't care how these end up tasting, I just want a pepper plant that looks like a Christmas tree. So far the plant looks good and there are baby peppers setting.

Purple beauty. I started this one from seed too. These are supposed to be mild peppers. My theme for the garden this year was purple. I hope these are beautiful.

Green bell. I got this from my mom. The peppers on it are a couple inches long so far, and yellowish. Should be good.

Corno di toro roso. Started from seed. Not a very vigorous plant. This is the runt of the pack. I hope it survives and I hope it produces. Horn of bull red!

Mystery pepper. I neglected to make note of what kind of pepper this is. It's one I planted from seed but fuck if I know what it is. It's looking rather similar to the purple beauty, so maybe that's what it is.

There are 10 pepper plants altogether, 8 in one of the raised beds and 2 in pots. Kinda wishing I'd planted a banana pepper again, or a peperoncini. Will do those next year. I don't like hot peppers but I like all pepper plants.

The puppy's roommate has a magura scorpion that he'll be bringing back, and he might also get a Carolina reaper. He is crazy.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019