1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

July 17
Sunday, Jul. 17, 2016 - 12:01

While I was away last week someone else figured things out and bought up all the remaining Coffee Nut M&Ms at the market. So I was forced to try Chili Nut M&Ms and Honey Nut M&Ms. According to the people on the internet, Coffee Nut and Chili Nut are tied for best, while Honey Nut is too sweet. According to me, only Coffee Nut M&Ms are worth your time. According to M&Ms, the vote is "too close to call". Voting ended in June but they aren't announcing the winner until August. The system is rigged! Coffee Nut M&Ms are the best and it's obvious to everyone!

I picked my first new potatoes last night! Two all-blues and two French fingerlings. They were small of course but they were actual potatoes. I finally gave up on the idiot cabbages and pulled them - those stupid jerks weren't doing anything. Will try again in the fall. Am harvesting the carrots and moving tomatoes into their space. And moving peppers into the space where the garlic has been.

Made jam on Friday, it was easy and the jam is delicious, it is like candy. I used pectin. Next time will try it without pectin. This was my first time ever making jam (although I'm sure I helped with jam-making when I was a kid). Our raspberries are so good, and I normally hate raspberries. I'd have liked to have strained some of the seeds out but didn't quite have enough berries so had to leave everything in.

The squashes and pumpkin are starting to look respectable and the cucumbers are fighting their way through the stupid potatoes. The watermelon is still just sitting there being an asshole.

We're moving towards late-summer and I can see the angle of the sun changing the way the shadows fall. I hate that but... it happens every year. The sooner this ends the sooner the puppy and his roommate come back.

In the meantime I'm cleaning and tidying (as you can tell right now) and sleeping.

I put my boxing membership on hold for the month because I'm out of town half the month, wouldn't have been able to go on the days surrounding marathon weekend, and - this coming week would have been the only week I would have been able to box, but guess what! I'll be having my period! So it's fine that I can't go to boxing.

Still have a bit of a scab in my nose - I guess that exposed blood vessel was a honker and the cauterization area was the biggest ever. Will be glad when it goes away completely. Haven't had any blood in my nose in three weeks!

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019