1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

July 14
Thursday, Jul. 14, 2016 - 21:34

There's a secret room in my house! A walled-up room! With a fucking walled-up window with fucking curtains still hanging in it! And linoleum on the floor! Dude! For real! I just got off the phone with my landlady and she told me about it. There's also an old quilting frame from the early 1900s in its original box down in the basement. When the puppy's roommate gets home we're checking all this shit out.

She was calling to find out how he's doing. He's doing okay. The surgery went well but they had to do some extra stuff for the cartilage so he'll be on crutches for six weeks instead of three. The pain isn't as bad as he was expecting but I think he's so used to living with pain that nothing can phase him now.

I don't know when he'll be coming home. I want him to come home as soon as possible but if he can get better care there then I want him to stay there for as long as he needs to. I just want him to stop hurting.

I picked a shit-ton of raspberries tonight and will make raspberry freezer jam this weekend. If he's not home by his birthday I'll mail him some jam.

I need to go to bed but the secret room is right next to my bedroom! How will I be able to sleep tonight!

This is just like that Victoria Holt book, The Road to Paradise Island! That's the best Victoria Holt book. In it, our heroine finds the grave of some old ancestor who had nearly the same name as her. Then they find a walled-up room in their house! Then they find a blood spatter on the wall! Then our heroine finds the diary of her similarly named ancestress! It's the ancestress's room! She was murdered in it! And then it was immediately walled up! Ahhhh! Then they find a map to a secret island! Then they go to the island but it's not there anymore because of rising ocean levels! People get killed etc., the end! It's a thrilling book, I recommend it, I'm going to find a copy and read it again this summer!

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019