1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

June 28
Tuesday, Jun. 28, 2016 - 16:52

It did not cool off overnight last night like they'd promised and I sweated all the livelong night. A thunderstorm came through at 3 or 4, the garbage truck came by at 5, my alarm went off at 6. I like the early mornings but I hate getting up for them. This time of year it's lovely at 6 a.m. but it's also lovely in my bed at that time.

I like coaching new runners but sometimes I get cranky about it, about the time it takes. Not that it takes all that much time - right now it means getting up at 6 a.m. one day a week for five weeks, and I'm missing the last week, so only four weeks. I guess I'm still burned out from last year's September-through-January stint.

This year, in the garden, so far, the tomatoes are doing quite well. I planted an Oregon Spring tomato seed in the ground in February and that plant looks good, sturdy and healthy.

But the peppers are not doing well - the peppers that I planted are not. I bought three pepper plants and those are doing fine, and got one from my mom, and that's doing okay, but the ones I planted are just not growing much at all.

The hardneck garlic was doing very well until one day most of them fell over. I think something (perhaps a dog) got into the bed and knocked them over. So there will not be much garlic this year.

The onions are finally doing quite well. There will be tons of onions.

The carrots are finally doing quite well. There will be tons of carrots. There have already been tons - I've been picking them here and there and I'm going to get sick of them very quickly.

The stinking cabbages are taking their sweet time. I planted them ages ago. I thought cabbage was a cold-weather crop? They haven't even formed any heads yet! Stupid!

The cucumbers aren't growing much, the squashes aren't growing much, the watermelon is just sitting there. The goddamn coleus I started from seed didn't make it. The marigolds aren't really coming up. The basil isn't really doing much of anything. I don't know what the deal is. I've fertilized, too - Miracle-Gro AND THEN fish fertilizer, when it appeared the Miracle-Gro wasn't doing anything. I mean, I haven't over-fertilized, it's not that.

The strawberries have been amazing and the raspberries are starting to ripen. I'm gonna have to make some freezer jam.

This fall, yeah, we need to convert to an in-ground garden. Load or two of manure and a rototiller.

I have been covered with sweat all day. I suppose there's no reason not to go to a one-hour boxing class tonight, except that I'm tired and I don't really want to.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019