1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

June 17
Friday, Jun. 17, 2016 - 17:20

I am on edge these days - first some man tells me he loves me and then shows up at my workplace out of the blue, and then a few days ago some ultra-friendly guy I've seen around the neighborhood randomly decides to hang out with the puppy and me on one of our walks, and that guy's probably fine, both things are probably nothing, but I'm on edge, I have to be - I have to be responsible for my own safety. The puppy, who is responsible for security at the house, and his roommate, who is backup security, are both going away and I'm on edge. He sees it as a small thing - he's only going to be gone until the 6th, he says, whereas I see it as a big thing - they're not going to be back until the 6th.

I am feeling petulant and sad, and I can see that I'm wanting to go on the warpath and cause a fight in order to change the immediate issues a little - and I don't want to fight, at all, so I recognize my petulance and sadness and the need to let it go. It will be okay, I will be okay.

So I will get all into the presidential race to distract myself from real life.

If Donald Trump were to be elected president - and he won't, but if he were to be - he'd quit after a few months. He doesn't really want to be president. He wants to be elected, sure, he wants all this attention and publicity, he wants to feel important, he wants people to think he's important, but he doesn't actually want to be president.

But he won't get elected and if the republicans are smart they'll realize he's in it for himself and they'll disavow him right now and start to think about what they're going to do in four years. If they don't give up on him they're basically surrendering their party to the likes of him. If that happens, it'll be the end of the (stupid) two-party system, because there is a legitimate position that the republicans used to ostensibly represent, so that position will need a new party to align with.

What the republicans should do, if they want to hold on to the word "republican", is accept that Hillary Clinton will be president and try to work to make her a one-term president. I'm not saying I want them to do that, but if they were smart that's what they'd try to do. Is Paul Ryan their guy of the future? If so, he needs to get to work, stop indulging this idiocy and start offering a viable, legitimate, and decent option.

The democrats, if they're smart, need to be thinking of these possibilities as well and can't get too comfortable knowing that they're going to win this one. They've got all this potential momentum with the Bernie Sanders supporters, and they need to figure out how to tap into that. If they don't, they might win this one but they'll lose in four years. They also need to offer a viable, legitimate, and decent option.

Not to mention the mid-terms.

I don't like how this election has turned the internet into a weird morass of "truth" that isn't true. I don't like how it seems everyone is so rigid and unyielding. I don't like how we're so convinced everything is awful.

We've had this idea for thousands and thousands of years that everything is awful. We even put it into the bible - God created mankind and has spent all his time since then regretting it, throwing his hands up in the air and yelling, "Oh come ON! That's not how I wanted you guys to behave! You are TERRIBLE! Ah fuck it, this is hopeless. I'm sending a flood, let's start over."

Everything is so terrible now and the apocalypse is just around the corner. We have no morals and the world has gone to shit. Sure ain't like the good old days anymore, the good old days back when we were young, right? Right? We can all agree that the good old days ended in... 1979, or... 1986. Oh, the summer of 1988 was pretty good. Maybe 1989, that's when it all ended. 1991 was okay too though. And my god 2003 was fabulous, as was 2005. I know it all went to shit at some point though. Was it last month? That's when we had that huge fight, but things have been pretty great since then, so maybe it's just today.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019