1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

June 10
Friday, Jun. 10, 2016 - 16:41

It's been an okay week. It's cooled off now and should be bearable for at least the next 10 days, which gives me time to think about my heat-management system this summer. Which window do I want my AC in? What's the best way to get my bathroom AC to help cool off the kitchen? Should I try to find some some sort of accordion half-door that would work better at blocking off the stairs than the large piece of cardboard I've been using? Hey, maybe plywood would work.

Today I went home at lunch and helped the puppy's roommate pull one truck out of the driveway. So I, uh, had the wheels pointed the wrong way and he was dragging the thing sideways with the Jeep and I couldn't tell what was going on, it was 150 degrees in the truck (the windows wouldn't open) and of course right when we're doing this two cars come up the street and when we finally get out of the middle of the street it turns out both cars want to turn into the alley that we're in. But whatever. It ended up working, ultimately. We towed it up the hill and then he coasted it backwards into the yard and didn't even crash into the light pole.

I picked my first carrots! They were babies, I was just thinning, but they were rad. The atomic reds are super red, and the scarlet nanteses are tasty. Next year I'm going to grow yellow and purple carrots too, there's no reason not to.

Also, you're going to be so unsurprised by this that you're going to barf, but it was quite a surprise to me: my goddamn period started today! What??? It's exactly on time! And so you're thinking I'm an insufferable idiot, but remember that I started taking birth control pills again a couple weeks ago and I really thought all my uterine cells would be like, oh cool, we're under the control of the pill again, no need for a period until the pill tells us to have a period. But nope, regular period it is. I was really not mentally prepared for this. I suppose this means, too, that I'll be having another period in two weeks. Stay tuned for that.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019