1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

5/17
Tuesday, May. 17, 2016 - 19:23

1. Because my experience with that last audiobook was so successful, I decided to start listening to the third book by Dan Brown starring himself as famed and handsome symbologist Dan Brown. So far it's exactly the same as the first two, which were exactly the same as each other. Ugh, Dan Brown, I can write a book starring myself with two-page chapters that stop right in the middle of something i.e. are "cliffhangers" too! I mean, I haven't, but I could if I wanted to.

2. I slept through the garbage truck banging around this morning! I even had windows cracked open. (I was sound asleep because I went to bed way too late, but the important thing is that I was sound asleep.) (The garbage truck comes by at 6 a.m. or maybe 5:30 a.m., maybe even 5:00 a.m., who knows, and it always wakes me up, especially in the summers when the windows are open.)

3. After months of nudes, I've had my fingernails painted dark maroon for a week and a half now and it's going swimmingly. This is a Nailtiques color and it's lasting super long. I had to buy some nail polish thinner for it, though, because it's getting a little goopy. Does nail polish thinner actually work in real life? I'll find out.

4. My long-suffering shampoo and conditioner collection is nearing the goal I've had for it for two years! For two years (or one year) I've been wishing I wasn't having to use the stupid stuff I've had, but for two years (or one year) that stuff has perpetuated. Finally it's almost all used up, and then I will be able to buy Pantene 2 in 1 shampoo+conditioner! I've given up on non-commercial non-shampoo shit. I could never figure it out. Anyway, our long national nightmare is almost over, finally.

5. Beans are coming up, potatoes are crazy, poppies are blooming, peonies are starting, strawberries are ripening, raspberries are setting, the arugula already started bolting, the cabbage is just kind of sitting there not looking cabbage-like at all, the cilantro is amazing for the first time ever, the hardneck garlic is doing great, the softneck garlic is doing not so great, the onions are still very thin, the carrots are not coming up as fast as I'd like, and everything else is just sitting there. I planted all these seeds - neat varieties of tomatoes and peppers - but it's disheartening to see how much further along the tomato plants you can buy are. I knew starting from seed would be slower and I did seeds in order to get the neat varieties, but still, it's disheartening. My stinking tomatoes are like two inches high, but the stores and even other humans who have greenhouses have tomatoes that are a foot high. Wahhh. If I over Miracle-Grow my plants, will they make up the difference faster? Wahhh.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019