1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

March the 3
Thursday, Mar. 03, 2016 - 17:12

In case you were wondering, my head is still congested today. I slept quite a bit last night - I mean, eight hours, and when my alarm went off this morning I regretted for a second my decision to go back to work today.

But alas, colds, as all things, come and go. Everything ends, everything begins, and we adapt the best we can. I took the bus to work, I'll go to yoga tonight, I'll get back into bed at 10 p.m. tonight.

Last night I was out planting carrot seeds in the dark with a headlamp. I'm not kidding, it was real life, and yes I did feel like a crazy middle-aged weirdo for a few seconds.

Earlier, after going to dinner, I'd pulled into my driveway, gotten out of my car to open my garage door, and the lady across the street was outside and called my name. I walked out into the street to meet her.

"Kelsi! Kelsi!" she said. "I have something for you! I don't normally do this."

I got scared for a second, thinking she was going to stab me. I've been watching that Lizzie Borden Chronicles show way too much. I don't normally do this, but I have this blade for your belly ha ha!

"I found this in my son's bookshelf and I thought of you," she said. Her son moved to Colorado a couple months ago; the night before he left they gave me his toaster oven, which I still haven't used.

This story becomes much less interesting right now because nothing happened, she just gave me the book Quiet, which was very nice of her. I didn't get stabbed, she wasn't being crazy, she was just being nice, and I'm not entirely sure what her name is. I think it's Bernadine.

Quiet is a book about introversion, and I wonder why she thought of me. Yes I'm an introvert, yes I'm quiet, but how does she know that? Possibly because compared to the puppy and his roommate I'm the quietest person in our house, I don't know.

Anyway, I've heard about the book Quiet and have been wanting* to read it and now I have to read it in order to make my neighbor happy.

* Well... "wanting" is rather strong, more like huhing. As in, someone mentions the book and I'm all, "Huh." In a good way, you know?

p.s. I saw the trailer for the new Ghostbusters and I'm excited because I love Kate McKinnon and Leslie Jones so much. I have never seen the original Ghostbusters because when I was a kid we were not allowed to watch anything with ghosts or magic or anything like that in it. That was back in the '80s when "the occult" was such a big threat.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019