1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

February 21
Sunday, Feb. 21, 2016 - 18:01

The weekend hasn't been half bad, which is quite good, given how terrible everything was getting. I finally got a good night's sleep last night, and I took a nap this afternoon, and I found chocolate peanut powder at the store which will be changing my ice cream game forever. Also, I've recommitted to growing potatoes this year.

I do have to go to work this week, and I am still turning 40 on Tuesday, and everything else is still there, but at least I'm not being a crybaby anymore.

On Friday after work I drank some whiskey (for fightin'), went to a film, went out to dinner (Mexican), found some guy's wallet and got it back to him after a circus of contacting people who know people who know his wife, and then I came home and entered into a truce with the puppy's roommate. We don't like fighting with each other, it ain't no good. So we're outside, looking at the low-hanging clouds lit up to the west of us, and then all the power goes out, all over the neighborhood. Then it comes back on. Then suddenly with no warning at all (except for that thing about the power going out) the wind picks up and within 10 seconds it's dangerous to be outside. The puppy runs across the yard, a tree branch comes down at us, nearly missing the puppy's roommate, crushing a slat on the swinging loveseat thing. Our screen doors are swinging, hanging onto their hinges for dear life. I get a pocketful of tree debris, my entryway gets some tree parts, I pull the door shut. Thirty seconds later the storm's gone.

Saturday morning I went for a run up in the hills with my two BRFs and we go out for breakfast afterwards. It's good for me to decompress sometimes. There are other jobs in town if this one falls apart. I know people who know people.

Bike ride to the basketball game, which was quite a thriller with a good ending (for those of us rooting for the team I was rooting for). Then I came home and took a nap with the puppy, who kept waking me up whenever he fell asleep and started twitching. Then I went back downtown for a film, which was enthralling. Then I came home and went to bed and slept my little heart out.

Today I went to boxing, bought some freaking chocolate peanut powder, took a nap, did some yard work, started some new apple cider vinegar. Now I'm doing laundry and trying to clean up up here, but that's going about as well as it usually does. Maybe I'll make some bread.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019