1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Chocolate milk, muscles
Tuesday, Feb. 16, 2016 - 16:16

Everyone at work is still sad. It was a dark and gloomy weekend and it's a dark and gloomy day. Winter is done and we're deep in the bowels of the ugly interseason. I am considering my options for jinxing a preternaturally early spring - planting seeds next weekend, taking off my snow tires. Both are powerful messages that would surely provoke Mother Nature's wintery fury. And if those don't work maybe I'll put my air conditioner in my living room window, see how she likes that.

For Valentine's Day I gave the puppy's roommate some paper towels. I didn't give the puppy anything because it would have offended him - he doesn't celebrate Valentine's Day. (Dogs always go with the most Hallmark version of holidays, of course, and think Valentine's Day is just chocolate and diamond rings, neither of which they are allowed to eat.)

I went for a run in the hills on Sunday, first hill work since last June, and it wiped me out. I'm in decent shape cardiovascularly and strength-wise, but obviously hill work uses different muscles, and my endurance isn't as high as it got to last spring. But running in the hills was fun and I'm looking forward to more trail running this year.

I'm paying for Sunday's run longer than necessary because I messed up my recovery because I didn't have any easy protein lying (or laying) around. The last time I went to Costco they didn't have chocolate milk, which is what I usually drink after a workout. Last night after boxing I went to the store and bought the best chocolate milk I've ever had in my life, Organic Valley chocolate milk. I bought a quart and nearly drank the whole thing immediately. I don't know how I lived without this chocolate milk. Buying it is one of the best things I've ever done in my life. I don't know how I drank that Costco shit. Oh my god, I know this sounds dumb but it's not. Organic Valley chocolate milk, you guys. I'm going to scour this town for a place that sells it by the gallon. Do any stores carry barrels of milk? I'd even buy a tanker of it, put it out in the back yard to tap as needed.

My latest shit-pop obsession is "Want to Want Me" by Jason Derulo. Please go watch the video right now. Ha ha! Did you see that! His lady goes to take a bath and out of nowhere he starts doing hanging inverted situps! I laughed out loud when I saw that, *at* him, not with him, because he's not laughing. Also, did you catch that he ripped off his own shirt? And where the crap does she live? It's raining in her bedroom! Gross. Her mattress must be moldy. Probably the reason she had to take a bath. Conclusion: This song is shit-pop gold and Jason Derulo wants you to know that he has muscles.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019