1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Goings-on
Monday, Oct. 19, 2015 - 16:28

My coworker who has been out for six weeks with a broken foot and who was supposed to be back at work today did not come back to work today because she couldn't sleep last night. Did I mention that I was getting a little testy about this? Because I'm getting a little testy.

It has rained. That's good, although I'll miss the dry sunny fall weather. I got a lot more yard work done over the weekend. I planted garlic. We don't have any leafy trees so I had to rake up leaves from the street to cover the garlic with. I don't know how I'm going to cover the strawberries. If I got another bale of straw like last year the puppy's roommate would throw a temper-tantrum - he says he's allergic to straw and also he doesn't like mulch. I suppose the allergy is legitimate but I suspect he plays it up because he just doesn't like mulch. And why doesn't he like mulch? I don't know, he has no explanation, and whenever we talk about this we get into a fight, so it's easier to drop it. I'll try to find some more leaves but I suspect I won't be able to really cover the strawberries and many will die. Which is good, because there are way too many strawberries.

I'm about done with the tomatoes, I don't give a crap if any more ripen, but the goddamn peppers are all covered with buds. So tonight if it's not super rainy I'll rearrange some things and get some of the last peppers from the garden into pots. And then I'll begin the stupid shuffle - moving things into the garage at night and out during the day.

Well, the second attempt at apple cider vinegar is going well and I started another one last night. If it works, there's no need to ever buy apple cider vinegar ever again. If it doesn't work, there is reason to buy apple cider vinegar.

Should I plant winter rye as a cover crop?

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019