1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Numbered, but reordered
Wednesday, Oct. 14, 2015 - 20:02

4. I downloaded a local copy of this diary, the whole shebang, using HTTrack. html files, not text. The terrible thought occurred to me the other day - what if Diaryland God doesn't renew the domain and one day, all of a sudden, this no longer exists? I've got so much brilliant shit* here and it would be lost forever! !!! But now I've got a full backup, and this diary will exist until my laptop breaks. And if Diaryland does disappear, I'll... you know what? No, I won't make a new thing somewhere else. That wouldn't work. So goodbye forever. I'll tell you that now. Stay strong. Until we meet again.

5. Last night I went to a boxing workout. I don't want to start punching people but boxing is a great workout and I kind of want to keep doing it. You get to kick. I want to kick. I want to be stronger.

1. I've spent more than one minute this week looking at pictures of dog costumes. Part of what's so funny about them is that the whole thing is so dumb. SO DUMB. But so hilarious. The puppy's roommate would be so mad/delighted if I dressed the puppy up for Halloween. I was thinking pirate, but maybe Superman. Or Princess, ha ha. Or a red devil. Or a witch! Ladybug! Butterfly wings! Oh, a little top hat and bow tie! Oh god.

2. The other night was one of those nights - warm wind a-blowin', I'm sitting out on the front porch feeling it. The sun is setting so early - and it's only going to get earlier - the days seem so short. What is 7:00 now was 10:00 just a few months ago... or four months ago. Time flies, doesn't it. I don't have to get up any earlier to see the sunrise these days. This fall has been a-okay - nice sunny days, no sudden dark freeze. The only bad thing is that the puppy and his roommate are missing it. Or rather I'm missing them.

3. What do you want? I want what I have, I want what I've had. Plus security, which I've never had. Or haven't had since my Big Change all those years ago. Maybe one of the things that's been so great about the last year and a half is the tenuousness. Maybe. Maybe. But it has been great.

6. I just looked at the local public reports for the last week and there have been disturbances involving cops right by my house in the middle of the night twice in the last five days and I had no idea. The puppy's roommate is often out and about in the middle of the night so I hear about these things from him but with him gone I have no idea. I moved his truck last week so that it wouldn't look like it was just sitting there. When I water plants or do laundry or turn on the heat I leave the downstairs lights on for a while so the house doesn't look empty. I haven't really felt unsafe but maybe I should be more wary. Nah, I don't want to live like that, never mind.

7. Ugh I'm having the most obnoxious problems with my contacts - every third or fourth new contact doesn't fucking work, is foggy or blurry, so at any given time one of my eyes isn't seeing well, and it gives me a headache, and I don't know if it's actually the contacts or if it's my eyeballs or if it's my optic nerve. Also I don't like my eye doctor and she won't be sympathetic about this at all. Bye.

* Brilliant shit including: that story about the pearls and the swine, the story with Amsterdam Hammer-Pickard, the story about the whale, the story about me as a rich and famous writer (that one's very sad), the story about me as a private detective, the story about me as a fashionable but murderous adventurer, and all the other stories I've written in which I've callously and tragically killed people. Oh, like that one about Marjorina and then her father gets shot by inept policemen. Not a good story until the end.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019