1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Friday
Friday, Oct. 02, 2015 - 18:22

This morning seemed to foretell of better things, peach-pink sunlight shining through the crack between the hills and the foggy clouds*. I'd slept well.

Every day I ride across the river on a cable-suspension pedestrian bridge, and today, in the first river channel, a beaver! Or not. Nope, not a beaver, beavers are quite large, like swimming dogs, and this was smaller. Some sort of varmint, swimming around in this spectacular setting on this spectacular morning.

Upstream a ways, a mile or two, there's part of a cottonwood tree in the middle of the river, blown there during the big windstorm this summer. For the last couple weeks I've been seeing this goosey duck thing, or ducky goose thing, some kind of bird I'm not used to seeing around here, a bird sitting on the tree by himself, just sitting and sitting. Yesterday I found out he's an immature double-crested cormorant. Today right as I rode by he was just swimming up to the tree. I like him, it's a neat thing to see, this one lone bird at his station. He needs to be thinking about getting out of here for the winter, though.

I've paid my bills, I've cleaned up some messes, I'm good and sore again. Maybe I'll make some soup this weekend.

(* "foggy clouds," that's what they were, don't try to second-guess my word choice or submit it to some sort of terrible writing contest.)

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019