1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

October 5
Monday, Oct. 05, 2015 - 21:13

I didn't speak to a living soul yesterday. I was being all busy and productive at home but in the afternoon I found myself listening to "Wish You Were Here" by Pink Floyd over and over so I decided to take myself out for a walk lest I fall into a pit of self-pity. It was a beautiful day. I was a little sad thinking that the week before at that exact time I'd been taking the puppy for a walk and a swim in the river but I cheered up thinking that I could go for a sunset run up one of the hills. I knew I wouldn't actually do that, but I could, and that made me feel better. Then I went home and made strawberry shortcake.

They said we were going to get hit by a killing freeze so I spent a bunch of time getting ready for that. Mid-20s this morning, they said. Instead it only got down to 31 in some places and maybe mid-30s at my place. Not even any frost. So fine, I'm ready for it whenever it does freeze, and I've got about 20 big pots of tomatoes and peppers that I've been moving into the garage at night for what turns out to be no good reason. That Mother Nature! I tell ya.

I am no longer a diaryland gold member. My membership expired yesterday. I didn't get any reminder emails and I wouldn't have renewed even if I had. I'd been doing it for at least 10 years I think, but now there's no point - I did it for the comments, but comments haven't worked since last December. I tried to download a backup of my diary, but that's broken too. I suppose this place is like a weird ghost town with only us losers and idiots and non-hip weirdos left, but I don't want it to go away. Shouldn't using diaryland be super retro by now? So maybe we aren't losers, we're ultra-cool.

Complaints about work

My coworker broke her foot. That sucks, impaired mobility sucks, being on crutches sucks... but it's been a month and she still hasn't been back to work. A bunch of people even had to donate sick leave to her because she didn't have any. And... I'm not trying to be unsympathetic, I do know that it's awful to try to get around when you're on crutches, but allow me to rant a bit. It's just a broken foot! It's not like she broke her femur! She seems to think she can't come to work at all because she can't put weight on her foot but that's not what that means. That just means that she has to use crutches. I was on crutches and couldn't put weight on my leg for four weeks when I broke my ankle and I still came to work. I did miss a few days but I didn't miss an entire fucking month. There are plenty of people around here who have had to be on crutches and/or in boots and they still come to work. We're busy and I'm absorbing all her work because she's a baby. And it's getting old, and I'm getting testy.

My retirement plan lost almost $3300 this quarter and has lost $1800 this year. My personal savings grew by -$200 over the last month. Well I'll be.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019