1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

September 22
Tuesday, Sept. 22, 2015 - 21:03

Back to the regular stuff...

Oh am I sore. I really thought I'd train for my September half marathons this year but I did not and I'm paying for it (a little) now. Partly it's not my fault that I didn't train - it was smokey, training was impossible - but partly it is my fault because there were a couple perfectly fine days when I just didn't feel like going out for a run. It's okay, I know I don't run much in the late summer, I'm not beating myself up over it, but maybe next year I'll run just a little bit more in preparation for these races. Or maybe I won't. Whatever.

(One of my BRFs is always talking about how she needs to run more. "I need to run more," she says, over and over. She's been saying it over and over for years now. Argh. Either do it, or accept that you're not going to do it and stop talking about it. This is how I feel about everything. Which doesn't mean I put it into practice. My self-righteousness is obnoxious, I know I know.)

I am wiped out after the weekend and have reached that paradox where you're too exhausted to sleep. Sometimes bodies are dumb. Sunday night I was destroyed but stayed up until 1:30 working on my parents' goddamn laptop, and last night I went to bed at 11:05 but didn't sleep well even though I took an Advil PM. I'm okay.

The puppy and his roommate are hoping to leave on Thursday. They don't know what vehicle they're taking yet. I've offered my car. This is exceedingly generous of me, for two reasons: 1. I love my car and don't want it to get any miles on it, and 2. I don't want them to go. They'll probably take the truck if the puppy's roommate puts on new shocks. It's going to be a tough trip for him. Not sure what I can do to make it any better. I mean, I can't make it better, he's having to deal with some awful shit. I'll pack up some dog treats for the puppy. I'll make apple cider vinegar while they're gone. I'll get the mail and water plants and hope they come back. Etc. The puppy's roommate may try to find a job down there. It makes me nervous and sad. Although I know he needs to do what he needs to do, and I'll be supportive of whatever that is, nervously and sadly supportive.

My dad is doing a little better and was able to go home yesterday after being in the nursing home for a few weeks and the hospital for a few weeks before that. He got home an hour or so before I left. He said it was weird to be home. I brought him a book, thinking we'd read it to him, but instead he read most of it himself on Saturday and finished it Sunday. So that's good.

Well, I guess I'll eat some cereal for dinner and then exhaustedly go to bed.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019