1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Chilly night out at the ranch
Friday, Sept. 04, 2015 - 16:58

I don't know if anyone has arrived at the writer's retreat yet. If you haven't, bring an extra sweatshirt and maybe even some gloves, because it's gotten downright wintery. They've decided to add electric teapots to everyone's cabins, and we're all stocked with tea and coffee and hot chocolate. I'm planning to get there in a few hours and will be dressed in the fluffiest, warmest clothes imaginable. I've wired ahead to have the pool boy light the fire in my cabin. If you're arriving later today you may want to do the same.

Yes, there's a pool boy. I forgot to tell you, there is a heated saltwater pool at the retreat. Also, ladies, there are free tampons, which is nice because my goddamn period is probably going to start soon, as usual.

If it snows (and it may - snow level is dropping to like 6,000 feet tonight) there will be sleigh rides and hot apple cider.

The first writing prompt is: "If this isn't nice, I don't know what is." (Kurt Vonnegut)

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019