1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Ashes
Friday, Aug. 21, 2015 - 16:23

I'm hacking away at this sleep-deprivation thing little by little. I am quite proud of myself. I've gone to bed before midnight three nights in a row now. Wow! Okay, sure, last night it was kind of after 11:30 when I went to bed, which is later than it should have been, but I was making pickles. And I was watching Grey Gardens. Grey Gardens! I'd never even heard of it! How? I don't know. It's on youtube and you should go watch it right now, if you haven't already seen it.

Big news here today is the ash falling from the sky. Before today, we were like, well, it's smok(e?)y, and the sun is dark red, but at least there's not ash falling from the sky. But now we can't say that. All we can say is, well, guess I'm going inside, bye.

Yeah, super smokey and gross. Eyes burning etc. They're evacuating houses on the highway I just drove on. We knew it would be a bad fire year based on how little snow we got over the winter. We lucked out in July with all the cold rainy weather, but here we are now, blechh. I suppose this is Mother Nature's stupid way of making me okay with the end of summer.

Oh god I feel like crap. I should go to bed early tonight. I'm doing all my usual super-smoke-plus stuff: drink more water, drink Emergen-C, drink kombucha, watch documentaries, make pickles. Tonight I will continue with that. This weekend I need to tighten my oil drain plug and clean out my closet/drawers. The puppy and I are hoping to spend some time together. He turns 21 in seven dog weeks.

I am wearing a fancy blue dress today. I wanted to wear a black shirt and black skirt but someone didn't put away the skirt and I couldn't find it this morning. While I was looking for it I found this blue dress all crumpled up underneath a bunch of other random things in a laundry basket, so I was like, well, I guess I'll wear this, bye.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019