1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Good year for peppers
Monday, Aug. 24, 2015 - 16:26

That book I checked out - When Things Fall Apart by Pema Chodron - I am not good at reading anything these days - I read two pages a week - but I was reading it the other day and finding it not terribly illuminating, but then she started talking about how to meditate. Okay so I'm not sure yet, I just got up to the part where she started talking about it, but I assume she's going to keep on talking about it, and I will read it, because although I'm 100 percent on board with Buddhist philosophy I'm 100 percent unable to meditate because my brain does not stop thinking. And that's not what's supposed to happen. It seems you should pay light attention when you exhale. I will continue reading.

The puppy's 21st birthday is on Friday and tomorrow is the second anniversary of his arrival in our lives, so we are celebrating all week long. The celebration started on Saturday - I thought it would start on Sunday, but the community wanted to start celebrating on Saturday, when, after a hike and a swim, he got his very first doggie ice cream cone. After that he got to hang out naked in the yard. The entire day was very awesome. Yesterday was very boring - his roommate went to work, he got to cuddle in bed with me for a while, and then he spent the entire rest of the day waiting for someone to do something with him. I mean it was fine, he did get to spend most of the day outside, but nothing really happened until about 8:00 at night when he finally got to go for a walk. Today, the third day of the celebration week, is awful and unfair for him because the two idiots he lives with went to work, so he has to spend the day inside like some kind of kept animal.

Over the weekend, I cleaned/organized the following sections of my apartment: downstairs entry area, stairway landing/window, living room window, clothes in closet. That's all, not as much as I could have done, but it's pretty good. I'm getting rid of plenty of dumb clothes and old shoes.

I did not go to bed before midnight last night.

I made habanero pickles - I mean, cucumber pickles with a habanero included - for the puppy's roommate, who says they are good. I'm going to make more sweet pickled banana peppers, and will make more dill pickles for myself, and also maybe some sweet pickles. And also whatever. And yes I should pickle the habaneros, we've got enough. Pickled habaneros and habanero pickles.

Good year for peppers.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019