1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Wednesday, August 19
Wednesday, Aug. 19, 2015 - 22:14

We had a bit of a crisis in the garden this week. The crisis may have been largely imagined. I'm not sure what's real anymore. Right now I am 30% sure we have fusarium wilt on the tomatoes. I am 30% sure that we do not have fusarium wilt and instead it's some other dastardly blight. And I'm 30% sure that the problem is due to uneven watering and too-close plants. And then I'm 10% sure there isn't a problem at all. I did a bit of digging and rearranging and repotting and fertilizing and a whole bunch of pruning so we'll see what happens. The perceived degree of severity of the crisis has to do with outlook on life, I believe. My initial take was that a fungus is ruining everything. The puppy's roommate thinks it's bugs but things are okay. The puppy thinks everything is amazing aside from his nemeses the yellowjackets.

Someone finally went to bed before midnight last night but then couldn't get up on time this morning at all. So does that mean that this person should try to go to bed early again tonight and risk not being able to get up again tomorrow, or should that person go back to staying up late at night? One could surmise that lack of sleep leads to feeling tired and to assuage that one should try to sleep more and hence go to bed earlier. But one could also conclude from the experience of last night/this morning that such a correlation does not actually exist.

And also someone around here needs to get to work and clean up my bedroom. I'm sick of it. I suppose I'll be the one who has to do it. Yesterday I fixed my bedside lamp - the pull-chain broke off a couple months ago. I was intimidated by the project because it involved electricity, but it was easy to fix - just take the fixture apart, unscrew some things, take out the remnants of the chain, and put the rest of the chain back in. Totally works now, and I don't have to run to bed in the dark anymore.

This morning on my way to work I saw some "travelers" just waking up after having spent the night in sleeping bags next to the river with their fucking alpaca. Later in the morning they were walking through town, alpaca, cat carriers, and the dude was carrying a rifle.

Took a bath, then ate the best-ever caprese salad. Okay, I'll go to bed.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019