1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Saturday, August 15
Saturday, Aug. 15, 2015 - 10:50

Came home for the weekend, was able to leave work early yesterday, which was good, because otherwise I wouldn't have come over until this morning. Mad thunderstorms were predicted for the whole afternoon/evening yesterday, and I did not want to be driving over the passes during thunderstorms. I'm not scared of stuff like that, but the storm on Monday was a good reminder that we're not in charge of nature.

Missed the worst of it but did drive through one thunderstorm. The drive was surreal - 95 degrees and dark black clouds mixed with smoke, then when the clouds started lightening up it started pounding rain. Drove by a few fires, a couple right near the freeway. Then, this side of the mountains, sun blotted out by smoke. No, we're not in charge. It makes me want to write more short stories about Mother Nature.

My dad got out of the ICU and is in isolation right now, which means if you want to go see him you have to gown up, unless you're my mother, who doesn't have to gown up for some reason. My cousin is staying with my grandma and everyone is ignoring them, apparently. My aunt and uncle and other cousin are here but I haven't seen them yet. Same old stuff. I've swept the kitchen and will vacuum today. Maybe go swimming or take a nap.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019