1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

So many ways to say it
Tuesday, Aug. 04, 2015 - 10:49

I went to Starbucks for a latte and donut yesterday and IT WAS GREAT. I sat there and wrote in my journal.

Here are some important updates:

FLORA

Still waiting for the goddamn tomatoes. One of the plants - a sweet 100 - is kicking the bucket for no apparent reason. It's biting the dust, it's assuming room temperature, it's buying the farm, it's counting worms, it's shuffling off this mortal coil. It's riding the pale horse. Happy trails, sweet 100. The other tomato plants are doing well but just sitting there with their thumbs up their butts rather than ripening their goddamn fruit.

The eggplants are coming along, the black beautys and the... white beautys or whatever. The millionaires are fucking sucking it this year, though. What a bunch of wankers.

The peppers are insane and I seem to have somehow acquired a chili pepper plant. I did not realize this. We've got four habaneros and one chili pepper. We have green, orange, and red bell peppers. We have two yellowish bananaish peppers. And a couple others. Last year the peppers didn't do well, this year they are killing it.

I sprayed the strawberries with neem oil again yesterday. I think that's the best thing, that and ant control. Those fucking aphids are going tits up. They're popping their clogs, their number is up, their hour has come, they're not long for this world. Now, what other motherfuckers want to fuck with my strawberries? Whoever does will meet a similar fate.

The puppy's roommate tied up the raspberries. We've got a pretty decent raspberry patch now, completely legit. In a few days we're going to start getting tons of raspberries. When we move we'll have to dig some plants up.

FAUNA

The puppy got to be a big boy this morning and he did very well, although he was a little frantic when I came outside. His roommate had left for work 15 minutes earlier and had left the puppy outside. I think all he did was sit on my steps waiting for me - I didn't hear him running around or barking at all. Poor pup, though - he got to hang out with someone all day Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday, and Monday. Yesterday he and I hung out all day long, he got to lounge around in the yard for the entire day. And then today for no reason at all he has to sit inside by himself. It's so unfair that I have to work.

We found a little orange cat hanging out under the puppy's roommate's Jeep last night. I called him over and he came right up to me and let me pick him up, didn't use his claws at all. He's a little skinny but not bony. I put out some water for him, which he was uninterested in, and if he's there again today I'll put out some food for him. The puppy's roommate said he's seen him around for the last few days. I don't think he's a stray but maybe he is. Anyway, he's nice and I hope he's okay. The puppy "loves" cats. I think he'd be able become friends with one but it would take a certain kind of cat.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019