1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Saturday, Aug. 01, 2015 - 13:14

Hello! Thank you for visiting my medical crisis diary! Here's the latest update.

The puppy's roommate had to go to the ER on Thursday night. He got three bags of IV fluids and three kinds of anti-nausea meds, and they gave him a prescription for more anti-nausea stuff for the next day. The doctor said it was a nasty flu strain. It's scary how quickly he went downhill. At lunch he could hardly stand up. When I got home after work he got up and was able to take a shower, but within an hour couldn't get up from his chair. I don't think he could have taken another night of barfing and getting no liquids in. It always seemed unfathomable to me that people die of the flu but I guess it can happen, and it can happen scarily fast.

The puppy was stressed out.

I'm back home for the weekend. My dad's doing a little better than he was last week - had a blood transfusion this week because his hemoglobin was low. On Thursday they had an appointment with the surgeon who did the surgery in February, and he was surprised by how poorly my dad is doing. They asked him about marijuana - good sign that they actually asked him, shows they'd actually been thinking about it - but apparently he told them that in order to get the best benefits you have to smoke it - and sure, fine, but there are other ways of taking it - and he also said it's most beneficial for people who are terminal. And so my parents were apparently dissuaded. This took place in a state where it's legal, they could have bought some to try it, but apparently it's been confirmed to them by this idiot surgeon that it's gotta be some Cheech and Chong thing. I'm frustrated. The puppy's roommate thinks I should go buy a bottle of tincture but I think they're being stubborn and closed about it now and even if I bought him some he wouldn't try it. Every single person I've talked to - all my sisters, and some family friends who are conservative Catholics - is supportive of them trying this, and they won't.

But my dad is actually getting outside and walking on the sidewalk a couple times a day now, and getting PT and OT at home. So he's doing better, but honestly still not great.

I forgot to bring my toothbrush.

Also, it's fucking AUGUST now.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019