1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Books, dog, USA! USA!
Monday, Jul. 06, 2015 - 10:36

I am now reading the ultra-trendy (apparently - I recently read someone somewhere describe it as such) book on tidying by Marie Kondo. I've finished the Jon Ronson book, So You've Been Publicly Shamed. And both books, or really any book - or anything ever written, really - is more about the author than it is about whatever subject it's purportedly about. I, for example, am constantly writing about myself, even if I'm pretending to be writing about a dog or about two books I've been reading. Anyway, so, both Marie Kondo and Jon Ronson have ISSUES. Yesterday I read the part about the socks and I'm like, okay, Marie Kondo is crazy. If it weren't already clear. Which it was.

In the Jon Ronson book - this is probably due to some idiotic decision from his editor rather than him - when he quotes people who are talking about a conversation or thought they've had, he keeps on leaving out 'like'. So instead of someone saying, "Someone said this to me and I'm like, 'Blah blah blah,'" it goes like this: "Someone said this to me and I'm, 'Blah blah blah.'" WHAT?!? JUST I'M??? NO! I understand that some people dislike the quotative use of 'like' but you can't just circumvent that by inventing a quotative 'be'! Jon Ronson's fucking editor needs to take a few years of torturous and arduous linguistics classes before ever meddling with quotative 'like' and pulling shit like this again. How dare that person have a job editing books.

I'm not done with the Marie Kondo book but I did read the part about how you're supposed to put clothes in your drawers standing up instead of stacked on top of each other and I did that with my t-shirts last night and guess what! I have more space! Which means I don't have to get rid of any shirts! I can actually accumulate more! Which I know is the opposite of what she wants me to do.

PUPPY: Yesterday we went to the river that I ran by during my big race two weeks ago and it was awesome, clear and cold and fun.

And god, no wonder the puppy's roommate never gets any sleep. With a dog jingling around, hopping into bed in the middle of the night, giving himself and your hands a bath, being all hot and cuddly, and getting up early, it's hard to get much sleep. Also good goddamn it's been hot at night - it finally cooled off yesterday but the night before it only got hotter during the night. I was sweating like a hot person who was sleeping with a hot dog. Ugh.

I'm not really complaining, though. The puppy is a sweetheart. He does hog half the bed though. And I'm tired. His roommate gets back tomorrow night.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019