1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

50 done and now the DAYS ARE GETTING SHORTER
Monday, Jun. 22, 2015 - 19:46

Okay, 50 miles is not easy, don't let anyone tell you otherwise. I had remembered the pain, and I suppose I'd remembered that it was "long", but I had not remembered the effort required to finish. It's not easy. It takes a great deal of effort. I had deluded myself into thinking it would be effortless, yes. Yes, I am delusional.

But I met all my goals! I finished, I didn't fall, I didn't cry, I didn't barf, I didn't poop my pants, and I beat my previous time by almost 45 minutes. Also I beat the annoying couple who were talking on the bus in the morning. Goddamn if there isn't anything that annoys me more than people who talk on buses in the morning. They came in just a minute and a half behind me.

Now I don't know for sure but I kind of think I'm okay with the time I got and I don't think I could finish any faster than that - I mean I could have finished 5-10 minutes faster if I hadn't walked as much at the end but fuck it was hot and I was tired and I don't think I could have not walked. So I don't think I need to do another 50 miler, I think I'm okay with the time I got. I got second in my age group, seventh female overall, started passing people at mile 20 and didn't get passed by anyone, passed a bunch of dudes in the last half.

I had a lot of unexpected support - a friend from work was at the 34 mile aid station with a sign her granddaughter had made, and my two BRFs came out to the last few aid stations when I was just expecting them to be at the end, and my sister and brother-in-law and niece came out for the last half mile, and most importantly my friend John rode next to me for probably 10 miles and kept me running much more than I would have if I'd been alone.

We have flea beetles on the fucking eggplants.

It's supposed to get to 104 degrees on Sunday.

Tired now, the end.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019