1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Bad dream, still freaking out
Thursday, Jun. 18, 2015 - 13:16

I dreamed about the race this morning - I was off to a very good start, got to the first aid station 8 miles in, which was in some little town in Spain. There were a bunch of people I knew there, one lady I'd apparently seen earlier in the dream who was sick. I was at this aid station a very long time. Two people died, and there were funerals for them. Then the puppy was there. The bathroom was small but surprisingly large. I started dancing with some friends from my hometown. Then I remembered that I was still running a race so I said I had to go. The other runners were coming through and they were very competitive, top-notch ultra racers. Then I realized I hadn't packed my drop bags so I'd have no extra supplies along the course, no change of shoes, no nothing except the two packs of Honey Stingers in my pockets. Bad dream!

Last night I was telling the puppy's roommate about that dream I had a few years ago in which I turned on the radio at 5 in the morning and that goddamn song "Hold On Loosely" by .38 Special was on and I was all, "Aww yeeeah!" and turned it up loud and started dancing and was super into it, until I realized it was 5 in the morning and I was waking up my neighbors.

So you know what song will be stuck in my head now all day long on Saturday.

Which I suppose will be better than that goddamn song that's on the radio right now about fucking for life, on and on and on. THAT song was stuck in my head during my 25-mile training run and I just kept thinking about their 50th anniversary and how their cake will say, "50 Years and Still Fucking!" and their grandkids will be like, "Aww Grandma and Grandpa, can't stop fucking, on and on and on, fucking for life." And the article in their hometown paper will note that he must have loved her right in order for them to have been fucking for life. Obviously the newspaper won't use the term "fucking" but will instead be more polite about it. God I hate that song.

I need to remember to pack gum. Gum! That's better than Tic Tacs. Don't know what to eat for dinner tonight. Or tomorrow. Tomorrow night I will be staying in a shitty motel in a very small town with no friends. Last time we went out for hamburgers. I'll do the same this time by myself, probably, and then go back to my room and watch TV. I hope there's an awesome movie on.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019