1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Garden's in, again, same as last year! But better!
Tuesday, Jun. 09, 2015 - 20:11

Garden's in! Pretty much. I also updated one of my public blogs last night, which I haven't done in years. I am avoiding my fundraising.

The tomatoes I started from seed will be pretty late. Next year I'll try starting them in March. Outside in the ground. It goes against all tomato wisdom but I'm going to try it. I could have done it this year if I'd had my druthers. I think we're going to end up with at least eight tomato plants - an Early Girl, a Sweet 100, a chocolate cherry (if I can manage to find a plant), two to four Super Siouxs, and two or three Oregon Springs. I started the Super Siouxs and Oregon Springs from seeds and I don't think I'll be able to kill any of them even if there's no room for all of them. We're beyond out of space in the beds so I've started putting things in pots - so far two pots of three eggplants, and one pot with a Super Sioux and a bunch of basil.

Regular basil, and purple basil! Will be so rad! Eggplants - Black Beauties, Millionaires, and Rajas - shiny black, black oblong, and white! I don't give two craps about the food they'll produce, I have no idea what to do with eggplant, but the plants are beautiful. I suppose I'll figure out how to use them in the kitchen.

Oh, also dill, which I guess will have to go in a pot. Dill doesn't like being transplanted but I didn't know that until after I'd started them.

Cucumbers, two kinds - I bought new seeds because I thought my old seeds wouldn't come up, but four of the old ones did come up. Cucumbers are fun to grow and it will be neat to have two kinds this year.

The beets have some kind of fungus. The strawberries have had some kind of mold. There's some kind of white fungus (like powdery mildew but more intense) on the grass. So I've been spraying sulfur all over the place. Hope it works.

The radishes are giant, like small apples. The lettuces are nice and the Tom Thumb lettuce heads are just about ready to pick. The arugula is good. The early garlic should be ready in a few weeks, and then the other garlic should be ready a few weeks after that. The onions will be a while.

The raspberries - are they late? We transplanted a bunch, and the puppy's roommate cut them back - was it March? Our raspberries have an incredibly long growing season and get two crops - I'm not sure if we're behind this year or not. When they get going we're going to have at least three times as many plants as we had last year. When I first moved in there was one plant. They're really incredibly invasive.

The pink poppies are done! I love those guys, pale pink poppies. The white poppies are still to come, though, so that'll be exciting. The columbines are nice and I spread seeds last fall so we have more around the yard than we had before. The mock orange - this may be its last year, if we get a new fence like we're supposed to.

I feel like I'm forgetting something. You may be disappointed at that because surely you want to hear all the details about my yard and garden.

I got more freaking mosquito bites on my back. Those jerks get me through my shirt when I'm bending over and they get me in places that are impossible to scratch.

I slept incredibly well last night but have a kink in my neck. Or a crick in my neck. I'm not sure what we call it around here.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019