1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

training is done
Sunday, May. 31, 2015 - 19:13

Didn't get 40 miles this weekend. I got 35 and I don't give a crap, I'm done. 25 yesterday, 10 today, and that's far enough. Training is done. Training is done! Now I sit and freak the fuck out for the next three weeks.

Been a good weekend. Friday I stopped by the hamburger shop on the way home from work, got home and was offered a beer immediately to go with my hamburger. Sat around, got stung by mosquitoes, and made up a planter for the front porch, which now has two of my white chairs on it. We've never had a "porch" thing before and now we do! Doesn't mean we'll ever go there, we're always in the backyard, but it looks nice.

Saturday morning was rainy and I didn't want to run in a downpour, so I didn't get started until 11. It was lovely then, overcast, got a few sprinkles. Same route as one of my 20s last weekend and it flew by until the last 5, which were torturous. My overall pace for 25 miles was faster than it was for 20 miles.

Went to bed at quite a reasonable time, was woken up at 2 by my goddamn mosquito bites, opened my eyes and the whole upstairs was lit up by flames. When I'd gone to bed, hours earlier, the puppy, his roommate, and Mark were sitting around the firepit. I looked out the window and they were still there, had just put more wood on. The garage wasn't on fire. So I went back to bed. They were out there until 3:30 or something, Mark slept in the yard, ha ha.

Ran the mile race this morning in 7:56. I'd meant to do 9:30 or something - I'm just tired and I don't need to run any fast races right now - and I thought I was going easy, but made it to the halfway point faster than I meant to. Then in the second half I again just cruised, wasn't worrying about it until a block and a half from then end, when I saw someone who is annoying in front of me, so I had to pass her. Kind of thought I'd throw up, but I didn't, and I beat her, so it's all good. My fastest mile time is 7:06 or something, and I usually get 7:22 or 7:25 but that's always after I've just done a 10k and a 5K. Maybe next year I can do this mile race without having other mileage to do that day.

After the race my BRFs and I climbed a mountain and I was getting a little persnickety because they were so slow. The point isn't to go fast, the point is to spend time with my friends, I know. But it took us three hours to go 6 miles. Anyway, by the end of that I was done. I stumbled through a couple more miles, got back to my car, and that's it. My feet are toast.

Got two tomato plants in. 10 pepper plants. Beans coming up. Cucumber leaves starting. The radishes are ripe. Strawberries. Lots of lettuce. Time to start planting the next crop.

I'm going to eat tons of ice cream tonight.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019