1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

bastards, saving
Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2015 - 20:01

Yesterday:

Today I ran some errands at lunch, stopped by the house to pick something up, heard the puppy woof a couple times. It was a lovely day and there's nothing the puppy loves more than sunshine so I let him out for a couple minutes. It broke his heart and it broke my heart when I had to put him back inside.

I've run 86 miles this month. Two years ago I ran 114 miles in March. I'm way behind where I thought I should be this time around but I'm feeling better physically. I think I'm doing okay, okay? The race is less than three months away. I did 21 miles this weekend, 20 last weekend. Two years ago I was getting 18, 20, 22 miles in one day during the month of March. And I was limping around for much of that time - my posterior tibial tendon was just getting started, my knee was hurting, my quad was hurting, my left butt was hurting. So... I meant to undertrain this time and I'm even below that because of getting sick in January. It's hard not to second-guess myself but I think I'm doing okay.

I'm running in the hills, on trails. It's much more fun. It's not necessarily necessary for this race. The race doesn't have any big climbs. I should probably get at least a couple flat long runs in, though. Well, we'll see.

Last night I did 10 miles and felt pretty great, especially toward the end. Felt like I was flying. But looked at my route on mapmyrun and it turns out that my maximum pace was 9:41 min/mile. What! I was going way faster than that! :( Oh, never mind, my fastest mile was 8:42 and fastest pace was 7:48. Still, dang, I felt like I was maintaining an 8 minute mile for quite a while. Bah humbug! Oh, you know, actually towards the end on the flats I was getting about 8:30 at times. I don't know how to read data, never mind. Well. Still.

I'm signed up for a first-time homebuyer education class in May. I just set up a new financial goal in Mint - save up for a down payment for a house. I'll talk more about it with the puppy's roommate, see what he thinks and what he wants to do. Will talk with our landlords as well. It's exciting/depressing.

The puppy's roommate called the cops on the cool guy across the street who was playing music loud again. This morning a lady was arrested on the street outside our house - four cop cars and one undercover cop.

Little pup met a goat yesterday. They did not get along particularly well.

If I bought a house I could get a piano.

I need to stop spending money but I want a new pair of road shoes.

Obvious expenditure cut: BeautyFix by Dermstore, formerly the Blush Mystery Beauty Box, formerly the most exciting thing in my life.

Today:

I have plenty of things to do at home but can only accomplish the things that take place outside because I end up spending all my time there, just like last summer. 100% of my time, until (these days) 9:00 and I go inside and the place is a mess but I have to eat dinner and take a shower and go to bed and can't possibly clean anything up tonight, maybe tomorrow.

Guys, the puppy is a goddamn misogynist. I began to suspect this when he came home with me for Christmas - my dad told him to sit and he immediately sat, my dad told him to shake and the little bastard lifted his front paw. I have to tell him to sit many times before he'll do it, depending on his mood, and he has never once lifted his paw for me to shake. Last night we were outside, his roommate was inside, the cat next door came outside, the puppy got excited and was jumping up on the fence with his hackles up and barking. I told him no, I told him to get down, and he didn't pay me no mind. Then you hear this far-off voice come out the window, his roommate saying his name from inside. And what did that dog do? He got down and stopped barking. What a bastard. What a dirty sexist bastard.

We are becoming overrun by raspberries and this is a good thing but the bad thing is that they are growing in one of the garden beds. This, obviously, shall not stand, so we're going to move some into the alley and I'm putting some along the fenceline. It's got to be the fenceline. The raspberries are bastards.

Last night we heard this strange sound coming from the street so we go out the gate and there's a bowling ball in the street coming down the hill. Lo and behold there's another bowling ball in our yard right next to our gate. So the puppy and his roommate ride their bikes up the hill to where these two kids are standing/running away. The puppy chewed them out, and the puppy's roommate talked at them. His trucks were parked right there, the bowling balls could have hit one of them. He told them he wasn't going to call the cops, he did the same thing when he was a kid but actually did hit a car, go find a hill without any cars nearby. They said thank you sir, and they left, leaving the bowling balls. One of the bowling balls smells like moth balls, one is cracked. Both are in our yard now.

Bowling balls are not good toys for dogs.

The fucking creeping bellflower is fucking all over again, fucking bastards.

I've been on a budget for one day and it's BORING.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019