1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Snow crust, poo, avalanche warning
Monday, Jan. 05, 2015 - 11:14

The last few days we've gotten a lot of nice snow, and it was pretty cold so it all stayed powdery and perfect. Yesterday they said it was going to warm up and bring rain overnight but they're always wrong so I didn't believe it, but it turns out they were right this time.

Woke up to freezing rain. Luckily we kept up with shoveling yesterday so there was only an inch or two, but it was covered with a heavy crust of ice, and it fucking sucked shoveling that shit this morning. I got all sweaty and I think my down jacket is stunk up now. Thanks a lot, weathermen! I hope you're happy!

The puppy is pretty confused about this shitty freezing rain and snow crust. Last night we were out playing in the nice powder, he was having a good time and everything was great and we all went to bed happy. Then this morning the poor puppy wakes up, comes outside, I'm shoveling the sidewalk sweating and cursing and it's all crap. The freezing rain was pinging and hissing. The puppy couldn't bound through the yard anymore, he could hardly walk with the crust on the yard. He managed to slog out to his poo corner and then tried to run back to me but he had some turds still attached. They fell onto the snow near the sidewalk and bounced around a bit. The puppy was confused and curious about the turds, thinking for a second that they were new toys before realizing that somehow his poo had come along with him. He was not humiliated in any way, which is good - he doesn't need that. The puppy never feels any shame.

He and his roommate are up snowboarding again today. There's a backcountry avalanche warning so after I left for work I sent his roommate a text saying, "Backcountry avalanche warning!", which he already knew about of course. I should have ended the text, "Love, Mother", because that's really what it amounts to. I can't help but worry a little even though I trust him to watch out for himself, he's smart and responsible and I know he makes good decisions with regard to safety. But still, you know, I couldn't not send the text. You know? Love, Mother.

Now I'm distracted looking at cruise itineraries. I would love to go on a 21-day tour around Australia. Alas, it's Monday morning and I'm at work. Bye.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019