1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Memphis airport
Wednesday, Oct. 15, 2014 - 15:09

The Memphis airport is lovely and I'm so early the plane isn't even here yet. This morning I saw giant cans of Dr. Pepper - 1 pint and 19.2 oz. Yes I bought a pint can, of course I did.

There is a lady waiting for my plane in hospital scrubs! What if she's a nurse? Should I get on the plane?!? They aren't showing news on the TVs here, they're showing sports, probably because they don't want any nurses getting beat up. I'm talking about Ebola. I shouldn't, so let's move on.

Things I did not do in Memphis: Graceland, Stax, Gus's, the zoo. And more. Memphis has a lot of stuff. But like I said, the streets are sad.

Memphis was humid and warm when I got here on Saturday, then it was tornadoey, and now today on my last day it's sunny and not humid and lovely. I saw the Peabody ducks this morning (frankly, they're just ducks) and then did the Gibson Guitar Factory tour.

The show last night was good and the people around me were very nice and smelled very good, which was incredibly pleasant. However, a bunch of yahoos kept smoking tobacco cigarettes during the show. So gross, so much more noxious than pot smoke. I've never noticed cigarette smoking at other shows. Maybe it's a southern thing?

I was about 20 feet from the stage I guess. I'm not sure I care for GA. Sure it's great for the people in the first 2 or 3 rows but you have to camp out for so long to get there and that's not something I want to do. When I was going to all those shows 11 years ago they weren't doing GA, they had seating down front, and I kind of think that would be better.

I did get to see some songs I'd never seen before and I got to go to a bunch of new places. Glad I was able to make this trip.

States visited: Oklahoma, Kansas, Nebraska, Iowa, Missouri, Arkansas, Tennessee, Mississippi. New songs heard: Smile, All Night, Come Back, Imagine and Open All Night (covers), Hard To Imagine*. I think I should try to go to the Denver show next week because, you know, because.

*Officially I'd seen Hard To Imagine at the 2005 Gorge show but as I'm sure you will recall that son of a bitch from Seattle and I were late and missed the first set. So we missed that song. Officially it was on my list but technically it was not. But that show is a good memory and I didn't mind then that we were late and I don't mind now. ♥

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019