1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

garden in, writing contest winner
Sunday, Jun. 08, 2014 - 21:46

Summahtime! I spent the entire weekend outside, like I did the weekend before, I think. Last weekend I got a farmer tan and this weekend I got rid of it. But I have acquired a tramp tan (the tan equivalent of a tramp stamp, ya dig?).

Got the garden in. We've got 7 varieties of tomatoes. We'll have a huge ripe strawberry in a day or two. We've also got: 3 peppers, an eggplant, cucumbers, green beans, basil, beets (striped), radishes (two kinds), lettuce and arugula, raspberries (growing where they shouldn't), and a honeydew, if it grows. Marigolds - I love marigolds so much. I think that's all. I also put in some flowers and some heat-resistant plants in the planters at the front of the house. No one ever goes to the front of the house.

Little pup and his roommate spent the weekend away but got back earlier today. The puppy has to wear a bandage on his ear because he got a cut (or bite) and was flinging blood all over. He also got into a tussle with the new cat next door today - the cat came over here and attacked him! - and nearly got into a tussle with a loose chicken from up the alley. It was pretty exciting around here for a while. The puppy is an excellent guard dog.

My apartment is still ripped apart but I can't make any progress because I'm never inside these days. These days I'm not really doing the things I normally do. I've written in my paper journal probably twice the last two months.

But things is good, overall. I realized the other day that I hadn't been thinking about Tim at all in who knows how long. I've been busy and stuff. Of course realizing that makes me sad all over again, but it's okay.

Here's what you all came here for: the announcement of the winner of the writing contest.

I am pleased to announce that the winner is me! I will receive an all-expenses paid trip to see my favorite band in the world in Tulsa, Lincoln, and Memphis! Oh my gosh, you guys, I'm so humbled by this! Wow! I never thought a silly story I wrote at work one day (shhh) would go on to win this fabulous award! Thank you for believing in me.

Second place goes to dirtyboots! Her prize has not yet been determined. Also, she and I are the only ones who are not banned. All others are surely ruing the day they failed to enter this important contest.

Good night.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019