1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

back to business
Monday, Jun. 09, 2014 - 21:02

Huge weekend recap: worked late on Friday, followed by dinner with former coworker, followed by gardening; sleep; race, followed by a day of mowing, yard work, and gardening; sleep; 11-mile run, followed by another day of yard work and gardening, with exciting interludes involving a cat and a chicken and a new quinoa salad recipe; sleep. I already told you about this.

I've been super ridiculously excited about the garden. One of the guys downstairs is out stomping through the woods for the summer so he's not hogging all the garden beds. (His M.O. was to plant a huge amount of plants and then not do anything with them.) I've been able to space things out more this year and I think they'll do well. The strawberries are already more successful than last year.

Things are more peaceful at home with him gone, which is kind of sad to say. He's a nice guy, but he's loud and ridiculous. He does ridiculous things. The puppy's roommate and I do a good job of sharing responsibilities and taking care of things. The puppy misses the stomper, and I'm sure we all do in a way, but it's really nice without him.

I'm also really excited about upgrading my furniture. I've been living like a grad student ever since I started being a grad student, and it's time to stop. I'll get rid of my collapsible bookcases and other stupid stuff. My grad student coffee table, my grad student table. I will finally be a real adult. Maybe I will be able to address the other immature issues in my life once I finally get some furniture. My Ikea record shelves should arrive on Wednesday!!!!@@@!!!!!

(Those @s actually legitimately happened - I got a cramp in my arm while typing all the !s - and I'm leaving it because it conveys my unhampered excitement. I am so excited.)

I'm going out of town for work on Thursday and Friday so I won't be able to do any furniture stuff, but back Friday night. Wooo!!!! Friday night furniture fest!

New boss didn't start today - she starts tomorrow. She better start tomorrow, ffs.

The puppy jumped over the fence today. It was an accident that happened while he was chasing a squirrel. He nearly got the squirrel. He's not in trouble - he was just doing his job. Hey man, a dog's gotta do what a dog's gotta do.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019