1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Boston Marathon
Monday, Apr. 21, 2014 - 19:56

Last year was very weird - I watched the marathon in the morning, everything was fine, I went to lunch and came back and it wasn't fine anymore. I couldn't stop myself from looking at all the pictures, all week, I just kept looking at all those horrible pictures. I found out on Wednesday that my good friend - he was the last to be heard from of the local runners, when I found out he was okay after the bombs went off that's when I got all teary-eyed - he'd done well, finished 6th in his age group, and he'd had a heart attack during the race. He flew home Monday, checked on his cows Tuesday morning, and then went to the hospital. I found out on Wednesday and although all the pictures from Boston were awful, they were abstract and far away, and this was my good friend who'd nearly died. It was very upsetting, and confusing. And Tim called that week, but didn't say anything, and that was upsetting and confusing. And right before I went to bed Thursday night I saw online that there was something happening near Boston but I didn't think it was related, but I woke up the next morning and it didn't make any sense to me that the guys who'd planted the bombs at the finish line had done the stupid shit they'd done on Thursday night, it didn't make sense, it only made it weirder. I'm glad one of the brothers survived, only because death doesn't bring any answers.

My good friend ran again this year, 10 minutes slower than last year but hopefully didn't have a heart attack this time. My other friend who started with the elites didn't hit her goal time but she did very well, and she's still got two years to qualify for the Olympic time trials. Two other friends did fine, one of them with a bad achilles. Maybe everyone I know who ran is a little disappointed in their times but I don't think they should be.

I got to work before 7:30 this morning in order to watch the live stream, which I did all day. I kind of think I may actually be quitting soon. I didn't sit in the main office at all today. I put a note on the door telling people to contact me if they need help. I could probably be persuaded to sit there, but until someone talks to me about it, fuck it, I'm sitting at my normal desk. I'm absolutely not going to be sitting in the director's chair doing that job unofficially. If they want me doing it, they can talk to me about it. I'm not donating my time. And I left half an hour early today. I consulted with everyone else in the office (me) and my acting supervisor (me) and decided to leave early. No one gives a shit what I do, so I'm going to do what I want.

I got home and had cheese and crackers and grapes and wine and I sat on my stoop reading a godawful Perry Mason book (were Perry Mason books supposed to be good?) and in a few minutes I'll take the garbage out. It got up to 73° here today. Tomorrow will be colder and rainy.

I'm glad that this year what I'm watching over and over again is just footage of the race. I've watched Meb come in four times now.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019