1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

February, update
Monday, Feb. 03, 2014 - 22:10

Last Wednesday: It turned back into winter! January was very sunny and dry and springlike. While it was nice having the sun and warmth, winter is winter and it should be wintery. So now it's snowed and gotten cold and it's great. The snow was so light and fluffy and beautiful. I wish everyone would stay at home so I could drive around on the streets by myself. My car is awesome in these conditions. I don't know why people drive any car other than a Subaru. I've got snow tires, too, so basically I can do anything and go anywhere with confidence. Vrrrm, vrrrm, vrrrrrm. I saw two people get stuck on a tiny hill last week - I offered to push one of them but he declined. Then my car comes up the hill and is all vrrrm, vrrrm, vrrrrrm, no problem. Fun.

Last Thursday: My idiot boss told me and my coworker that our names came up in a meeting about budget cuts - ours were the only names mentioned, he said, implying that we're the only two on the chopping block. Two other people who were in that meeting, though, told me that that was exactly not what happened. My coworker is now proposing cost-saving measures such as furlough days and reducing our FTEs. It has been hinted to me that my idiot boss IS going to get canned but for mysterious reasons it's not happening yet. I'm hoping the new job switcharoo (I told you about that, right?) will work out for me. If it does, I will have my own office for the first time ever (since teaching). I will take one of my stereo systems to my office along with some records - Stan Getz and Les Paul and other work-appropriate music. It will solve my problem of having too many stereos and not enough rooms at home. Record player at work! Fantastic! That's the thing I'm excited about! This kind of is my dream job, but record player? Shit yeah.

Last Friday: The puppy had to go to the vet to get IV fluids. Don't freak out, it's okay, he's fine. He was severely dehydrated because he'd been eating so much snow. Snow, it turns out, is not a good source of hydration because it is very dry and your body uses fluids to melt the snow inside of you. I didn't know this, and neither did the puppy. He also had a bladder infection, and he also had been barfing. Poor puppy! By Friday afternoon the puppy was feeling great and he was able to show me his new trick, which is: climbing the tree at the front of the house. He jumps up to the bottom branch, about six feet up, and then he shoulders his way up so that he's standing on the branch. He can hang out up there and watch for squirrels. That dog, I tell ya. He spent the weekend in his dog coat because of his delicate health but he doesn't act like he's feeling badly at all.

Today: The wind is howling, snow is blowing up all around. It's only going to get winterier, guys! This is perfect, I love it. It's winter.

I've been very busy, what with all the running and basketball games and platonic dates and such. Last night I got home after a Super Bowl party, called my dad, took a bath, and got into bed at 10. I couldn't keep my eyes open. Then I woke up all hungover today. When you get old you start getting hangovers even if you weren't very drunk. My gut was unhappy and my head was wobbly. And then my TRX workout was great! Thanks, alcohol!

My birthday is in three weeks. For years and years now I've been wanting a ukulele. One year for Christmas I asked for a ukulele but my dad got me a mandolin instead. If I don't get a ukulele for my birthday this year, I'm going to buy one myself, finally. There's no reason to live without a ukulele if you want one.

February, the best month of the year, has begun. And that means the next beauty box will be coming soon! But they haven't revealed the one revealed product yet! Jesus! Get with it, people!

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019