1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

history and beauty boxes
Sunday, Jan. 26, 2014 - 16:35

I watched The Bletchley Circle on the netflix last night. I thought it was quite good and scary and I also thought about how hard it must have been for the women who did important work in World War II to go back to being seen as useless ladies after the war. After having important and valuable jobs, it must have been very difficult and weird to assume the role of the supportive housewife. And compounded with that, the men returning from war had physical injuries and PTSD and all that and many of them needed to be seen as the man who provided for his family, the ideal of life before the war. Everyone was playing roles.

I have also been listening to the following audiobooks:
Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher by Timothy Egan, a biography of Edward S. Curtis
Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand

I meant to do some work on my resume today but ehh, I can't be bothered. I guess I'll make some tea and do some cleaning up, or something. I don't even know.

Subscription box news: I should be getting a Whimseybox soon, and I should be getting another Julep box soon, and I should be getting the next Blush box within a couple weeks! I know this is ridiculous.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019