1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Friday, Nov. 11, 2011 - 11:36

This must be acknowledged: I hate my job. I've always hated my job, you've known this, but I hate it even more now. Due to certain large changes, the last year has been ridiculous. Yesterday we had a staff meeting and the over-boss announced to us something that only reinforced to me how much I hate my job. The ridiculousness of the last year is not going to get any better. At all. My saving grace right now is the class I'm teaching, which keeps me away from that stupid office for 15 hours a week.

After this semester ends, the idea is that I'll go back to that job full time. However, I cannot stomach the thought. Can't do it. It's stupid, at this time, to quit a job, but fuck - when is it ever going to be a good time to quit your fucking job? At this rate I will work at this job until I die, miserable the entire time.

Conclusion: something must change, come January. This is not an option. Ain't no jobs in this town, though.

Complicating factor: running. I don't want to leave my running community here. This is my imaginary timeline: I will go to Hawaii for the month of January. I'll run on my own there. I'll take a suitcase with a few books and a few notebooks and I'll lounge around and read and write and think and take naps. I'll come back here for a week for the documentary film festival and either get my stuff and take it somewhere or... maybe I'll stay here.

I want to skip the winter. It makes my ankle hurt, thinking about winter.

I want to train for the half marathon next year with my training group, which starts in March, so it'd be okay to be here then. (Also I'm planning to do an ultra next fall, 50 miles, and I'll definitely need a group to train with for that.)

I guess what I mean is, I'm unhappy and don't know what to do.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019