1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Saturday, Nov. 12, 2011 - 11:26

http://www.mcsweeneys.net/articles/its-all-gonna-break

I'd hyperlink that but html tags are hard to do on my phone.

Yesterday, at a Veterans Day radio and ravioli party, I was moaning about my job, saying I really, really don't think I can go back full time and I really, really think I need to leave town for a while. I had also been complaining about a book I read years ago - this writer is always writing about writers, which means he's always writing about himself. My friends said I should quit work and be a writer. (Well duh, I secretly thought. They know a blog or two of mine, but I suppose no one really knows how much I do write.) Which got me thinking. A comedy of errors, or similar. Nothing big, but could be a fun exercise.

Long-lost person left a while ago, walked downtown to his car. If his paycheck came today (his last paycheck), he was planning to get his car registered and then get trashed. I told him the DMV won't be open today, which he apparently hadn't considered. I am pessimistic about his ability to make good choices and think he'll probably just get trashed, spend all his money, and be right back to where he has been all week. He hasn't had a drink since Sunday, other than cold medicine. Maybe he'll surprise me. Or maybe his paycheck hasn't come and he won't be able to buy himself anything.

He's in touch with his family, or at least with his dad, but from what I gather they're not helping him out like he'd like them to, and in fact his dad suggested he check in to the homeless shelter here. He won't do that, though - pride and stubbornness too strong.

Well, god. I have to pick myself up. Guess I'll clean my apartment, as a way to get a sense of control of something, so I'll feel a little better.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019