1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Oct. 23, 2011 - 11:48

Went to sushi last night for a friend's birthday. These people are crazy, ordered $400 worth of food, most of which did not go to waste. Total for each person was going to be $55, which was the entirety of my cash, but then they wouldn't let me pay, as if it were my birthday. While I feel like a pathetic a-hole, I do appreciate it. They know I haven't had a great time financially in this town, and they know I've been rather "down" lately, so they said they're trying to keep me in town.

Their experience here is completely different from mine - been here longer, some of them grew up here, older than me and they had carefree times that I've never had here. Makes me think - I feel like this place is too small for me now, I know too many people, but that can't be true. My little baker friend grew up here and doesn't seem to ever think everything is ruined. You create your own community, wherever you are. I've created something I don't like, I guess.

But it'll be okay. I'll get through this semester and someday I'll get myself a new job etc.

Back to that topic I'm always thinking of but never writing about: when we finally said goodbye 8 years ago, at the subway station, up until that moment I didn't know what would happen between us. I was leaving Sydney that day and would be leaving Australia a week later and maybe he'd just be a random, incredible memory. "Definitely keep in touch," he said. "Really?" I said. Later, in my journal, lamenting that we'd be living on opposite sides of the planet, I wrote that maybe, someday, we'd find ourselves in the same corner of the world, and who knew what would happen then. Ha! Who knew?

So we hugged one last time and he walked down the stairs and I walked back to my hotel. Last year, when I was back in Sydney, I went to all those places we'd been at together - and was surprised to find that I didn't recognize everything anymore.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019